Your Cart

PCB names Bugti Stadium enclosures after modern-day stars

LAHORE: Pakistan’s most celebrated lady cricketer Sana Mir, most profitable Check captain Misbahul Haq, main Check batter Younis Khan, and an all-format star Shahid Afridi are amongst 10 former worldwide cricketers who might be honoured by having the Bugti Stadium enclosures of their names, the Pakistan Cricket Board introduced on Thursday. The opposite six cricketers are: Kiran Baluch, Mohammad Yousuf, Saeed Ajmal, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shoaib Khan and Shoaib Malik. The enclosures had been named after these cricketers in recognition of their contributions and companies to Pakistan cricket, which additionally aligns with the PCB’s plans and drive to enhance, uplift and improve spectator and taking part in services on the Bugti Stadium in preparation of the venue being made to host future high-profile matches.

Chair of the PCB Administration Committee Najam Sethi stated in an announcement: “The contributions of those 10 cricketers are meritorious and it’s important that we recognise their achievements and accomplishments by naming Bugti Stadium stands of their names. This might be PCB’s small token of appreciation to those gamers, which may even assist in creating consciousness about Pakistan stars and recreation improvement within the Balochistan province. These 10 cricketers are family names and, admired and adopted by all generations of cricket lovers. The inclusion of Kiran Baluch and Sana Mir displays the PCB’s imaginative and prescient and endeavours for girls’s empowerment and attracting younger women to take up this nice recreation and characterize their nation on the worldwide stage. I’m positive we’ll get to see extra women taking over this sport in Balochistan and the PCB will go away no stone unturned to develop the ladies’s recreation on this area.”

Sana Mir stated: “I’m honoured {that a} stand might be named after me within the Bugti Stadium. Might this gesture from the PCB and the instance of Nahida Khan, who has been one of many shining stars from Quetta, encourage extra younger ladies to turn into cricketers. We want extra women taking part in the sport of cricket and reveal that we consider in equal alternatives for ladies and men.” Shahid Afridi stated: “I’m grateful to the PCB for bestowing me with this honour. I all the time felt privileged, motivated and decided to play my finest cricket at venues that had the names of a number of the greatest stars in our sport. I sincerely hope the subsequent era of Quetta cricketers will discover the identical motivation when taking part in on the Bugti Stadium that, in flip, will improve their urge for food to interrupt into the nationwide framework.” PCB’s 5 different worldwide venues, together with the Gaddafi Stadium (Lahore), Iqbal Stadium (Faisalabad), Multan Cricket Stadium (Multan), Nationwide Financial institution Cricket Enviornment (Karachi) and Pindi Cricket Stadium (Rawalpindi) have already got enclosure named after former worldwide cricketers.

Concerning the 10 worldwide cricketers:

1: Kiran Baluch — Kiran performed three Exams and 40 ODIs from 1997 to 2004. She scored 242 towards the West Indies ladies on the Nationwide Stadium in March 2004, which continues to be a world document

2: Misbahul Haq —Misbah captained Pakistan in most Exams (56) and gained 26, greater than some other Pakistan Check captain, 87 ODIs and eight T20Is. He led Pakistan to the number-one spot within the ICC Check Championship in 2016 and was a member of the squad that gained the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2009

3: Mohammad Yousuf —Yousuf is a world-record holder for many Check runs in a calendar yr (1,788 runs in 11 Exams with 9 centuries), which earned him the ICC Check Cricketer of the Yr award for 2007. In a 90-Check and 288-ODI profession from 1998 to 2010, the elegant right-handed batter scored 7,530 and 9,720 runs, respectively

4: Saeed Ajmal — In 212 worldwide matches, the off-spinner took 447 wickets, together with 178 in Exams, 184 in ODIs and 85 in T20Is. He was a member of the squad that gained the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2009.

5: Sana Mir — In a 15-year profession, she performed 226 internationals, together with 137 as captain from 2009 to 2017. In October 2018, she peaked to number-one on ICC Ladies’s Rankings for ODI Bowlers and was named as captain of Wisden’s Ladies’s Staff of the Decade. She is a member of the ICC Ladies’s Committee

6: Saqlain Mushtaq — The inventor of doosra, Saqlain took 208 Check and 288 ODI wickets in 49 Exams and 169 ODIs, respectively. He was considered one of Wisden Cricketers of the Yr for 2000.

7: Shahid Afridi — Shahid Afridi stroked the then quick ODI century off 37 balls in his second match, took a five-fer on his Check debut and adopted up with a century towards India in Chennai. In 524 worldwide matches, he scored 11,196 runs and took 541 wickets. He was a member of the squad that gained the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2009.

8: Shoaib Khan — Born in Bostan, a city exterior Quetta, Shoaib is the one males’s cricketer from the Balochistan province to characterize Pakistan. He featured in 4 T20Is in Canada in 2008. He performed 65 first-class and 22 T20 matches, scoring 3,695 runs and 533 runs, respectively

9: Shoaib Malik — The all-rounder performed 35 Exams, 287 ODIs and 124 T20Is, accumulating 11,867 runs and taking 218 wickets. He was Pakistan captain within the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2007 the place his aspect reached the ultimate and was on the crease with Shahid Afridi when Pakistan achieved the 139-run victory goal to win the 2009 ultimate at Lord’s

10: Younis Khan — Younis Khan is a PCB Corridor of Famer, who featured in third most Exams for Pakistan (118) wherein he amassed most Check runs for Pakistan (10,099) and scored most Check centuries (34). He performed in 4 ICC Males’s Cricket World Cups from 2003-2015 and completed his 265-match ODI profession with 7,249 runs with seven centuries. He captained Pakistan to their first world title in 17 years when he lifted the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2009 trophy at Lord’s.

× WhatsApp